What NOT to do for disaster victims

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What NOT to do for disaster victims

What I am going to say comes from working four days in our state emergency operations center, dealing with first the Greensburg, KS tornado which virtually wiped that small town off the map. Then on Tuesday and Wednesday we dealt with flash floods and river floods that inundated hundreds of homes.

I work as a volunteer for a charity, so I'm there as a coordinator, relaying information and requests to our units in the field and our state headquarters. Topeka Barb takes the morning shift and I take the afternoon shift. But in the spirit of cooperation I will speak of "we" as anybody on the disaster relief effort.

Most of my psychic and mental energy this week has been trying to think of ways to tell people NOT to bring us semi loads of clothes.

The disaster scene at Greensburg is a dangerous place, we had a broken leg just yesterday. We wanted to bring in another canteen to feed victims and relief workers, but there is no place to park it, so we are servicing people from large (12 passenger) vans we already have on site. No one is having any problem buying all the supplies we need locally. That includes bottled water, blankets, and food.

The one logistical problem we have had is getting tetanus vaccine from 40 or so miles away when more is needed, because the road is choked with workers, heavy equipment, and "tourists." The one church building in town is choked to the rafters with "stuff," mostly clothing. There will be no services there anytime soon.

Workers already have had to divert from disposing of tornado rubble to discard an entire semi load of clothing which had been placed near the town and was in the way.