Timeshare Forums  

Go Back   Timeshare Forums > General Timeshare Topics > General Timeshare Discussions
TS4MS Store Forum Navigation TS4MS Points Chat Room

Reply
 
LinkBack (2) Thread Tools Display Modes
  2 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2009, 07:05 PM
justrelaxing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
TS4MS Points: 362
Ever rent or sell to ITA?

I recently bought a timeshare. I got a phone call from International Timeshare Association if I wanted to rent or sell my timeshare. Sound like a good deal to have them rent out my property on my years I have it. It would be more money to bank and I could use a getaway for $500 or so. IS this a scam, or is this a good deal? Brand new into the timeshare arena so not sure if this is too good to be true deal or now. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2009, 07:21 PM
tonyg's Avatar
Goomba & Super Moderator
TS4MS Master - 3000+ Posts!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 9,428
TS4MS Points: 326,794
Most likely a scam- you will be able to confirm that if they ask for any kind of a fee.
__________________
www.cancundiningguide.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2009, 10:39 AM
justrelaxing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
TS4MS Points: 362
Yes they were asking for a fee of $995. I thought that was strange, but i wanted to check with a few others here.

Is there ways to rent your property if you dont use for the year?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2009, 03:54 PM
jerrry94087's Avatar
Posting Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
TS4MS Points: 2,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by justrelaxing View Post
IS this a scam, or is this a good deal? Brand new into the timeshare arena so not sure if this is too good to be true deal or now.
Timeshare industry itself is largely a scam. Look how they are sold and what is the difference of retail and secondary market prices. So it's not amazing that resale part of the industry is also a scam.

Knowing that, it's smart to make use of this system the way how it is, without being a sucker and buying retail.

Last edited by jerrry94087; 11-29-2009 at 05:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2009, 01:14 AM
zgreg9's Avatar
Posting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mississauga, ON CANADA
Posts: 31
TS4MS Points: 940
justrelaxing

Look how fast your name & all your personal information was sold by the resort where you purchased to these scammers.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2009, 08:48 AM
Kentonmag's Avatar
Posting Member
100+ Posts Club
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Catharines, Canada
Posts: 122
TS4MS Points: 5,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrry94087 View Post
Timeshare industry itself is largely a scam. Look how they are sold and what is the difference of retail and secondary market prices. So it's not amazing that resale part of the industry is also a scam.

Knowing that, it's smart to make use of this system the way how it is, without being a sucker and buying retail.
We've been in Timeshares for 4 years now and taken a couple of knocks along the way. You will get great advice if you read this board and use it as a reference.
I'll start by saying anyone that phones you wanting to buy or rent out your timeshare is not worth dealing with (I can say that from experience). All require an upfront fee, in my case it was $199 to rent my timeshare out, I got one enquiry in a year. Using this forum's advice I went to Redweek.com and Myresortnetwork.com and paid a nominal $19.99 and had at least 30 enquiries and 2 successes during the same period.
You may think you've made a big mistake by getting into Timeshares, by reading the replies to your original question but let me tell you that we have had some tremendous vacations in the last 4 years and other than paying full price to get in to timeshares originally, I have no regrets.
Just enjoy the experience, don't attend anymore timeshare presentations when you go to different resorts, it's not worth a free sauna or a free show. Just enjoy the holiday.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2010, 12:33 PM
Arnold Layne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
TS4MS Points: 250
Update required...

So guys...
Does anyone have anything good to say about ITA Timeshares?
I'm UK based - but receiving calls from ITA advising me that they can rent my unit for USD 3,100 per week...
Too good to be true?
They want USD 995 from me...
What should I do?
Please advise...
Many thanks
Arnold

Last edited by Arnold Layne; 05-28-2010 at 12:34 PM. Reason: typo error
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2010, 12:39 PM
PigsDad's Avatar
Posting Member
500+ Posts Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 599
TS4MS Points: 33,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnold Layne View Post
So guys...
Does anyone have anything good to say about ITA Timeshares?
I'm UK based - but receiving calls from ITA advising me that they can rent my unit for USD 3,100 per week...
Too good to be true?
They want USD 995 from me...
What should I do?
Tell them that you will not pay the fee upfront, but that they can deduct the $995 from $3100 rent they claim they can get for you. Then watch them squirm.

It's a scam, plain and simple.

Kurt
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2010, 11:29 AM
Arnold Layne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
TS4MS Points: 250
Hi
I did just that - and they told me it was 'illegal', which quite amused me.

Since then, I've heard nothing!

Thanks for the advice...

Regards

Arnold
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2010, 02:09 PM
RedDogSD's Avatar
Posting Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
TS4MS Points: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnold Layne View Post
So guys...
Does anyone have anything good to say about ITA Timeshares?
I'm UK based - but receiving calls from ITA advising me that they can rent my unit for USD 3,100 per week...
Too good to be true?
They want USD 995 from me...
What should I do?
Please advise...
Many thanks
Arnold
Arnold, they will not rent your TS for $3100. Trust me....I fell for that once before. The most powerful site for renting your timeshare is Redweek.com. TUG is also a good source. You shoudl pay no more than $50-$100 for listing your TS on a reputable site. $995 is ABSOLUTELY CRAZY to rent your TS. Don't fall for it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.timeshareforums.com/forums/general-timeshare-discussions/100305-ever-rent-sell-ita.html
Posted By For Type Date
Timeshare Forums - Timeshare-Forums This thread Refback 12-01-2009 09:36 PM
Timeshare Forums - Timeshare-Forums This thread Refback 12-01-2009 08:27 AM

» Advertisements
» Current Poll
Does the image tool work for you and can you navigate?
Yes, and I use Internet explorer - 52.31%
34 Votes
No, and I use Internet Explorer (please post version) - 0%
0 Votes
Yes, and I use Firefox - 43.08%
28 Votes
No, and I use Firefox (Please post version) - 1.54%
1 Vote
Yes, and I use Opera - 0%
0 Votes
No, and I use Opera (please post version) - 1.54%
1 Vote
Yes, and I use a MAC - 6.15%
4 Votes
No, and I use a Mac (Please post version) - 0%
0 Votes
Yes, and I use something else (Please post Details) - 4.62%
3 Votes
No, and I use something else (Please post Details) - 0%
0 Votes
Total Votes: 65
You may not vote on this poll.
» July 2010
S M T W T F S
27282930 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
» TS4MS Stuff

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios
TimeshareForums.com and TS4MS are copyrighted by Quarterbore Inc 2006.